muse

I remember the first time I heard about you.

‘Hey did you see the local station has hired a new meteorologist? He’s really cute!’

‘Meteorologist… cute? Just as long as he’s telling me how good the offshores are I don’t care what he looks like.’

I grew up in a small costal town where the only thing that changed was the size of the population during the summer season. It was great that everyone wanted to come see how beautiful my home was but it also meant that I had share the ocean.

I struggle with this because overall I think it’s wonderful that people want to enjoy the earth mother’s essence, but there’s something about the solitude and connection you feel with her when you catch that wave and for a brief moment in time you become her muse. There’s something definitely unique about that experience that you just want to keep all to yourself.

Leave a comment